Using GL_TEXTURE_RECTANGLE_EXT

Hi,

I am in the need to use the extension GL_TEXTURE_RECTANGLE_EXT to use NPOT-textures. (For video playback for example) My first problem is, that I am a newbie in regard of JMonkey, so I am poking around a bit …

What is the correct way in extending jMonkey so it can support NPOT-textures with the Extension GL_TEXTURE_RECTANGLE_EXT?

My first idea was to create a new class (called LWJGLTextureRectangleState inherited from TextureState) and use this class like:

Quad q = new Quad("quad", 800, 600);
rootNode.attachChild(q);
TextureState ts = new LWJGLTextureRectangleState();
Texture t = TextureManager.loadTexture("/Users/stephan/Desktop/test.png", Texture.MM_LINEAR, Texture.MM_LINEAR, 1.0f, true);
ts.setTexture(t);
q.setRenderState(ts);

But this does not work, the methods of LWJGLTextureRectangleState (load/apply) don't get called, instead the methods of a LWJGLTextureState-object are called before entering the methods of my class (which results in an OpenGL-Error in the beginning of LWJGLTextureRectangleState.apply).

What's the best way to extend JMonkey? (I want to add support for 1D and 3D-textures also -- same question)

Any pointers / help is highly appreciated, thanks

Stephan

I wouldn't be opposed to just adding properties to the current TextureState for NPOT, 1D and 3D textures. After all I think all these textures would or could share the majority of the code, right? (But I'd wait for the opinion of the other devs too)

As to why your current solution doesn't work… weird. I'd think they'd only be called if you call them yourself with super. (I assume your class extends LWJGLTextureState)

Thanks for the reply…

I think i have to dig a little deeper inside the core of jme to understand what is happening. I will provide more feedback when available.