Using JGN for an RTS

The basic setup for the game is similar to an RTS. A player will control multiple troops and by clicking a location and telling the troops to move there, they do so. While moving, they may perform various actions like shooting or something.  How they get to that point and what they do during that time is up to the individual troop to decide. I'm planning on using some basic AI to achieve that feature, which is where my question comes in.

Would it be better to give the server the message to move the troops and have AI actions run on the server (they are likely to be shooting at targets as they move too) or do those calculations on the the client and send the server each troops action as a message.

At this point I am leaning towards having the server do the AI work, but would like some other peoples opinions as a sanity check. I've had no experience with large scale servers and have no idea how each of the methods would scale.

Scalability might be a concern there.  It would definitely simplify things to offload all that to the server, but you'd end up with essentially a dumb client then.  In networked game development one of the extremely difficult things to do is find the right place to run what code.  One one hand you would prefer to have the client do as much as is possible to keep from making the server do all the work, but at the same time the only trust-worthy participant is the server, so security becomes an issue when you are depending on any calculations from a client.