Virtual Reality FPS while walking around in real life

Hi everybody,

Last year I did my master thesis computer science about a virtual reality multiplayer game. The idea was to play a game on the oculus rift while walking around in real life and move at the same time also in the virtual world. The game was created in the jMonkeyEngine. We managed to come up with a prototype and had some fun with it. If you are interested you can read the paper version (6 pages) that I presented on a conference in Mexico or the full thesis.

We also posted a videoclip on youtube where we explain the concept and show a short demo.

I would also like to thank two guys that helped me last year with figuring out how to use the oculus rift together with the jMonkeyEngine: @phr00t ,@rickard. Thumbs up for you two!

5 Likes

Very interesting do you have a video demo for it, to be shared as use case

Edit: I missed to congratulate you, it is a really fun topic.

Thanks for your comment! I just added a link to a youtube video where we explain the concept in short and where we show a short demo

Hey this looks pretty cool! How reactive was it irl though? In the video it seems to take long to respond to the person’s movement.

Thanks! We were able to update the location of a player 4 times per second. This could be increased to roughly 8 times when using a better smartphone. But when you play the game in real life, the result was better then expected. So it is not perfect yet, but we are already looking to other methods to increase this responsiveness.

Only 4 times? But shouldn’t it only be sending like 7 floats (3 for location and 4 for rotation)? That could surely go faster. I guess there could be some interpolating to make it smoother.