Visualization of over millions of points in space

Hey all,

I am new to JMonkey and gaming engines. At the moment i am bit confused as from where to start, it would be great if some one can help me to start with.

Basically i have millions of points(400-500 M) each is represented by x,y,z co-ordinate and each have some data attached to it. Now i would like to create representation of this points in 3d space. And this representation have to be interactive to user. I mean user can go inside this 3d space and could able to select any of the point and displays attached information, zoom In/out and so on.

I Google a bit about the 3D java programming but i am not sure whether that can help me to deal with this vast amount of information. Some people also suggested to have look onto the java gaming engines/Jmonkey. I completely do not have any idea as from where to start. Is this task possible to do with JMonkey, if yes how to proceed? Your suggestion will be of great help. I am looking forward to hear from you guys.

Thanks!

Well you could get away with up to 7 million visible depending on hardware, but more is not really interactive anymore.
Dont show stuff further awy than x might help,
look at how to create a custom pointmesh by searching for bosth stuff and similar posts in the forum.

(The limits are btw a hardware thing, using c++ or whatever wont really help much)

I think your best bet is to create a custom point mesh, but still 400-500M points is a lot of points and you would probably have to do some clever optimizations to make it run interactively.

jME has lot of functionality you gonna need already implemented and in my opinion it is good starting point for a solution to your problem.

I am far from the biggest fish on this forum, but I have used jMonkey for some time now, so take my advice by a little caution.