Water dynamics needed

Hello all.

I'm rather new to jME so I'm not familiar with all its features.

However, there are two effects I need to simulate and perhaps someone can lead me toward literature that can help.

The two things I need to figure out:

1. Buoyancy in water on arbitrary shapes.
  2. Water surfaces generated from a Fast Fourier Transform technique.

I'm familiar with the coding required for #2 but was wondering if anyone's heard of an implementation in jME or if there would be any issues I might run into trying to get it working.

Buoyancy I know has been done before many times but I can't find any solid references or articles on the basic idea.

Thanks for any help!

-Len

Hm.  Not a lot of takers on this one.

Okay, here's a simpler question:

I may want to build my own FFT-based water simulation.

There are FFT libraries out there for C++ that make it relatively easy.

Does anyone know of similar libraries for Java that would work nicely with jME?

Or is it fairly easy to tie into C++ libraries from jME?

Just trying to get a handle.

It's kind of important before choosing to go with jME for a pretty big project I'm starting.

Thanks.

len said:

Does anyone know of similar libraries for Java that would work nicely with jME?

Having never heard about FFT water simulations before, I don't know what specific functionality in such a library you are looking for.
But of course there are a number of good math libraries available, http://commons.apache.org/math/ is but one of them.

len said:

The question should be "Or is it fairly easy to tie into C++ libraries from java?" - and the answer is, it is doable in a reasonable amount of time if you are familiar with the JNI (java native interface), the library you are trying to interface to, and c coding. Optionally you can try a wrapper generator like SWIG, but IMO that would not really be worth the effort for a small, specific subset of a math lib.

Thanks for the response!