Where to Start

Im not sure if this is the place to put it, but here we go.

I am a bit new to coding and I have read a lot of the help files and docs. I’m looking into making a basic java 3d game “Space invaders” clone as practice. Anyways, I have some models from a friend, some basic sounds so my assets are ok for now. Now that the background is done:

Im looking for tips on how to start coding my project. This is more of a personal preference thing most likely, but I am more interested in how the industry standard does it. What I am looking for is What I should start doing as a base:

Do I start by making the settings, start by importing all the assets, or do I start with making my first scene, I really don’t know what is the first step to making an game. I have made a cash register application with an inventory control system for school, but that was without any type of engine to work with.

Anyways thanks for any help on this matter.

–Yud

Start by doing everything in 1 file. Get some place holder assets (you should probably use boxes, and give them different colors). Create a boundary in your 3d space, and once they leave/enter it, then change direction and speed.

Once you feel more comfortable, then you can start refactoring stuff out into other classes, controls/appstates, adding particle effects, post processors etc

Start at tutorial #1, good luck

Starting with something really simple like space invaders is an excellent idea. It’s small enough scope that you can realistically complete it even if it isn’t very good architecturally and then look back and learn from what you have done and do it again better.

Expect to throw everything away several times, it’s a sign that you are learning.

As @wezrule said start by just throwing everything in one file and get something (anything!) working.