Which IDE

Hi All,

I've been a troll on here for a couple of weeks now and like what I see  :smiley:

I am a Systems Administrator with way too many years experience to mention - yes, I'm an old fart (46 and counting!)

I would not consider myself a developer by any means, but over the years, I have dabbled in Java - my last project being an e-commerce system for my employer. I have also coded some weather related apps.

I have a reasonable backgroud in 3d design using SolidWorks and for years have had a "Pipe Dream" of creating a networked 3d world to wander around in.

I came across JME after looking around the net for a 3d engine and it seems to be just what I have been looking for.

My question is…

I have been "Out of the game" for a while and the last IDE I used was Jbuilder Foundation 2005.

I have just downloaded Jbuilder 2008 Turbo, but don't seem to see any mention of it here?

So what is the current IDE of choice? (Choice being free  :wink: )

Thanks in advance,

Mark Roberts

AKA WeatherWitch

eclipse or netbeans seem to be most widely used.

i always used eclipse and i'm pretty happy with it, the eclipse project files are checked in, so setting up the eclipse project its pretty easy.

if you choose, eclipse, netbeans or intelli idea, its just a matter of taste, its probably best if you give them all a try :slight_smile:

As Core-Dump said, try them all. Then use Netbeans. :smiley:

Netbeans is more productive for me.

Don't wanna start an IDE war, but its almost possible to tell the IDE from coding style (not the code formatting).

fires a salvo for eclipse  }:-@

Use Netbeans if:

• You don't want to have to delve into all the options just to get debug up and running

• You want to easily create GUI's

• You just want a plain easy, userfriendly GUI.

Use Eclipse if:

• You are a ArchLinux user, and like to sadomasochistically frustrate yourself finding out the most simple options.