Why having jmonkey and godot split in two engine and not having one bid engine (just like blender is for 3d)

Hello,
I’ll introduce myself as someone who worked with jmomkey during a while at one point in time, but i had do drop coding for personal reason (i’m initially an artist), if your interested i’m leaving some link at the end feel free to give you advise.

Recently with some friend we decided to work on an unlimited game where the goal is to go the farthest. On that project i work as an artist and we got 1 sound designer and 1 game designer… As you should have guessed by now we lack the knife putting the butter on the breedr, no matter what we do there will be no game without a programmer, We have tryed to get some but they always desaeper when it is time to do the work ()im not blaming them, we dont have money, and we are asking to someone to give up his free time to us…)
All the programmer we had worked on unity… i had no issue with that since i was not supposed to type a line of code. But since we seriously need to have the code be going i need to take it in charge, as a big advocate of the opensoure to me jmonkey was my go o by default, But since godot can now handle the 3D it could be my go to. (unless someone there is interested, i’ll leave the link to the game pitch at the end)

Anyway My main question after all that is that now, i thing that using godot as my main engine to fit best to the need of the team we have so the game designer can do stuff in it without having to code like he would have if we used jmonkey. I’zould like you opinion on that,

Godot is a C++ engine. JME is a Java engine.

If Godot suits you then you should use it.

1 Like

can do stuff in it without having to code like he would have if we used jmonkey

i would more compare it to telephone where you dont need to know android and have simple keyboard(Godot) vs one where you need to know android system and touch techniques.(jme)