Would jMonkey be good for this kind of project?

Does anyone here have any opinions on LWJGL or the jMonkeyEngine? Particularly, I personally am wanting to create what might be loosely (and maybe misleadingly) described as a “City Simulator” – though it will be bit different than “traditional” Simcity-clones and I prefer to call it a “community simulator.” I do want players to be able to look at there towns in disembodied 3D swiveling camera mode (normal for play) but also enter a first person mode to walk through them like a resident.

I have started the simulation engine (does nothing yet, but starting to flesh out some classes), but have no clue on the rendering engine (I’m a total noob with graphics and game programming). I don’t want use any external libraries (other than standard Java libraries) for simulation engine, and want to be strongly encapsulated the simulation from the rendering engine. I was planning on teaching my self graphics and rendering and LWJGL, but am tempted to pick up jMonkey as a way to make life easier – but I don’t want jMonkey oriented design to take over my project and many thing (e.g., physics) are not needed (or would simply help with eye-candy). Anyone have any advice on this?

Any thoughts on this?

I think you should use jME instead of plain LWJGL. jME will give you tons of stuff you probably would have to build yourself eventually. It is a sound idea to keep the simulatin logic separate from the rendering, however I do think you should do a little digging into the engine in order to understand how it works. Otherwise you might end up with a simulation design that is cumbersome to integrate with jME. Good luck with your project!

Just recently got reminded about a Ludum Dare contest I took part in. It has conceptually the same type of code design. Like kwando says, keep the logic separate from the rendering is nice.
And yes, jME is very suited to do the graphics for your project :slight_smile: