YASLQ (Yet another save/load question)

After reading several other save/load threads, I understand that implementing Savable to individual non-spatials is required for proper save/load functionality. However, I’m using custom classes that extend spatial (Spatial -> Node -> InteractiveNode(from t0neg0d gui) -> GameObject). My question is: since I’m inheriting the savable implementation from Spatial, do I still have to implement Savable in the “GameObject” classes? Also I’m receiving an InstantiationException because the GameObject classes don’t/can’t have empty constructors due to their superclass requirement of super(Screen). I assume that I’m not saving the screen object to disk or this would work - right?

These very well may be simple Java questions as I’m still learning the language. Thanks for reading and feel free to flame the post as long as you provide some helpful comments too :wink:

You do not need to implement Savable read/write unless you have properties you want to persist.
All classes that implement Savable should have an empty constructor, otherwise they cannot be serialized. I guess if t0neg0d GUI’s InteractiveNode does not have an empty constructor, then it cannot be serialized.

@Momoko_Fan said: You do not need to implement Savable read/write unless you have properties you want to persist. All classes that implement Savable should have an empty constructor, otherwise they cannot be serialized. I guess if t0neg0d GUI's InteractiveNode does not have an empty constructor, then it cannot be serialized.

So, is there no way to bypass the empty constructor? Or tell certain objects to pass arguments during the loading process?

@navybofus said: So, is there no way to bypass the empty constructor? Or tell certain objects to pass arguments during the loading process?
Clearly the t0neg0d API is not meant to be serialized. Trying to force it to work isn't going to help much because the object fields are not actually persisted in the file.