3D Model/View Problem

Hi, apologies for this vague question, but I have a problem: whenever my 3D model appears in the field of view, the view goes crazy, and the model seems to get stretched over the whole view. This video shows what I mean:

I know there’s nothing wrong with the model itself since I can load that into another game. I’ve tried scaling the mode to virtually zero, stopped animating it, and moved it far away but this problem still occurs when the model appears in view. I’ve obviously put something in the code to cause this, but I’ve no clue what. I’m no expert in 3D, and I’m not using any special shaders or preprocessors.

Any help telling me what could cause this would be much appreciated as I’ve spent ages removing bits of my code but nothing makes a difference. Thanks!

What’s the shader on the model? Looks like as soon as the model gets unculled by the engine it gets drawn without any view projection transform which should be one or more last lines in the vert shader. Also the shader could be fine and your transform could be NaN or something like that.

Also, animation skinning is only calculated when the object is in view, so depending on what you mean by “stopped animating it”, that could also be something to look at.

Try removing the animation control before adding it to the scene and see if the problem persists.

Thanks for your replies. I’m not using any shader (unless JME adds a default shader or something?). I’ve also not added any animation to it (by removing the animation control). It’s just a straight model.

Welp, seems like we’re gonna have to see some code or the model file to help you any further. Everything you’ve said so far checks out.

Also, log/print the world transforms of the model to see if they check out. A crazy quaternion somewhere could in theory cause this also… though it would be strange.