Am I following the “rules” of an entity component system?

Hello everyone. This is my first post here! I did not see a section for introductions, so if there is, please forgive me.I am really enjoying JME so far. A lot of work/talent must go in to this! Thanks for that :slight_smile:

I am relativity new to java. I have spent most of my time on web programming and such. (I also did a lot of Actionscript back in the day so java feels very friendly to me). I can’t say if I am doing this in the most efficient way or not, but if feels OK. I have a mathematics degree so the logic comes quite naturally. Anyhow, I apologize in advance if my java “lingo” is not quite up to scratch. There may be better ways to say the things I say. I am a bit neurotic, so I feel the need to explain myself all the time… so forgive me for my long-winded post too. lol.

I have been inspired by many sources to try Entity-Component Programming… I just love the idea of the whole thing. (Maybe it is my background in web development that causes this.)

I have attempted to create a simple Entity-Component setup that is compatible with JME. Right now I am just experimenting with it in a few simple ways-- no ambitious plans.

Here is what I have:

I have a MultiHashmap that holds all the initially created “entities”. The entities have uniquely generated tags. Components are set to the tags by a method that is called after the given entity’s creation (I did this so I could churn out entities with certain components in a ‘for loop’ or something). I then access this map from a game state (which acts as my system) and pull out all the entities with a given component. This is stored in it’s own Hashmap. The state manipulates this Hashmap through whatever logic it possesses.

My questions are:

1: If i was clear enough in my description-- is this following the “rules” of an entity component system?