Ati shader problem

hello everyone,

i’m new to jme so i made my way through the beginner tutorials. at the animation tutorial ( https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme3:beginner:hello_animation ) some strange things happen: this robot does not appear. i got it down to this: when i hardcode the settings an force it to use LWJGL_OPENGL1, the robot appears but the animation is not played (i assume this has something to do with the shaders). with LWJGL_OPENGL2, everything starts fine but the robot is not displayed, just the background. with LWJGL_OPENGL3, the program crashes at startup with a shader compilation error (got this message):

Implicit version number 110 not supported by GL3 forward compatible context

Its the Common/MatDefs/Light/Lighting.vert vertex shader, i dont know if this is a general problem or just this shader.

I use a HD 5970 with the latest catalyst driver (12.3) on a Windows 7 64bit system. Also, jme sdk tells me with a graphics capability check that i’m able to use OpenGl up to 3.2 and GLSL up to 1.5.

i dont have this problem on my lenovo x200 notebook with opensuse 12.1 64bit.

i hope this is enough info, if not, just ask what you need

Update your graphics driver, if it doesn’t work then (do the test classes work?) you have to go with OpenGL1 mode for your card.

Not an opengl issue, i have the exact same card and system and i had similar issue with previous drivers (are the 12.3 the last ones?).

The bad new is that I resolved it by rolling back my drivers (i think october 2011 drivers)

ok, i solved it. i read the jme-shader-tutorials and the specifications of jme-materials (there is a good pdf about that: jmonkeyengine.googlecode.com/files/jME3_materials.pdf ). in the j3md-file of the lighting-shader (later the compiler complained also about the unshaded-shader), i changed de following lines

VertexShader GLSL100: Common/MatDefs/Light/Lighting.vert

FragmentShader GLSL100: Common/MatDefs/Light/Lighting.frag

to