Basic AI (line-of-sight detecting, geometry detecting, and other stuff)

Hello, I’m new to the whole game development scene, having only done stuff like modeling…

So I got dem questions, namely on how to enable line of sight navigation and detection of other entities.
It’s probably going to be complicated, but I respect that.

Right now I’m in development of a RTS game, but it will have detailed AI and as such they need to be able to function from LOS mechanics.
Soooo… no idea where to start.

other things:

Is using a node to move a spatial instead of moving it by itself while it’s animating a good idea?
How can I propel bullets from the opposite direction of the muzzle? I’ll figure out collision detection, etc.
It a decent idea to create a new weapon entity at the spatials hand and make it it’s child to equip a weapon, having the firing a function of the weapon?

I’m sorry to bug you and thank you for your patience, I’m new to working on things like phsyics and it’s… interesting.

LOS simple ray tests from the eyes of the subject to the shoulders, head and feet of the other players (or whatever). If theres a collision in between you don’t have a line of sight.

For bullets, just don’t throw around physics objects as projectiles. Determine the bullet path and do ray tests on that path while the bullet travels.

@normen said: LOS simple ray tests from the eyes of the subject to the shoulders, head and feet of the other players (or whatever). If theres a collision in between you don't have a line of sight.

For bullets, just don’t throw around physics objects as projectiles. Determine the bullet path and do ray tests on that path while the bullet travels.

Okay, thanks.

Assuming there is a tutorial for ray tests, I’ll get right on this.

Also, getChild() is not working… either version. On a spatial?
Any tips?

A spatial is either a geometry or a node.
https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme3:scenegraph_for_dummies