Beginner Questions

Hello! I am a complete NoOb to making 3D games! Recently I have been interested in learning about 3D game development (mostly just for my own amusement,) and so I have been looking for the best Java API for that purpose. I had only known about Java 3D, but today I saw jME mentioned on a forum so I am checking it out. I just have a few questions. First, I see that people say that performance is better for jME than for Java 3D. This is important to me because I am running a very low end computer and I would like to at least begin learning 3D coding, even if my computer is too slow to do advanced things. How much better does jME run? Java 3D runs ok on my machine but I have only been doing simple things with it. Secondly, how would you recommend I begin learning jME? I found the Starter Guide PDF and I think I will work through what is finished on that, but I am worried about the lack of documentation (not a criticism, just something I noticed ^^.) I looked through the JavaDocs, but being a beginner to 3D it is pretty intimidating! Is it possible for a beginner to learn with what is available now? Finally, I have a more specific question. How does terrain work in jME? I am still looking at the Starter Guide’s section on that but I am somewhat confused. Do people normally generate the terrain in an exterior program and then import it? Thanks! ^^

First, welcome.

Speed differences between Java3D and jME are hard to quantify, but Java3D is thread safe and jME is not. That accounts for a substantial speed difference there. jME Devs are constantly increasing rendering speed, as being a game platform speed is of the essense, while Java3D is not specific for games. But I can’t really give you hard numbers.

Working through Cep’s Starter Guide is the best thing to do, and just keep posting on the boards. The Javadoc has also been greatly improved thanks to Cep. The next release will have them posted on-line. Documentation is improving, slowly but surely.