Binary numbers

Hi, I am still learning java, and this engine, and I am currently working on a test-game for it.
But while writing some data for the game, I hit a snag. The game is a maze, and I construct it with tiles, and each tile has boolean-values for its four walls (on/off).

As I was planning how to format the code for a test-level, I though of using binary numbers to represent the bools,
[java]byte wallBools = 0b0111;[/java]
but then I get this:
“binary literals are not supported in -source 1.5 (use -source 7 or higher to enable binary literals)”

Why is binary not supported?
And is there something I can do to use binary?

Well as stated it was not supported in that java version, so you are left with defining it in hex unless you update to a newer jvm.

To define a var from binary its easiest to use the hex representation for that binary number.

int mask = 0x1; // Represents 0000…0001 (32 bits in total)
int mask = 0xF1; represents 0000…11110001

Each hex value represents 4 bits.

If you insist to use byte, you can use only 2 hex digits.

byte wallBools = 0xFF; (All bits 1)

Or as in your example

byte wallBools = 0x07; // (00000111)

Thank you for the answer.
However defining it in hex defies the point of writing it in number.
I want to do it that way to allow for a quick edit, by the change of a simple number.

As I have already pointed out, I am still fairly new to java, how do I update to a newer “jvm” to use with jMonkeyEngine SDK?

There are various ways of going around to do that.

For now if you just want to test stuff, you can use

int value = Integer.parseInt(“0111”, 2);
Even though this may not be a good way of doing it, it works.

The most common practise is to set certain bits rather than using the binary literal.
For changing certain numbers in the variable you will use bit operations.
See examples below for how to toggle/set/unset a certain bit in an integer

[java]
public void toggleBit(int variable, int position) {
variable ^= 1 << position;