Can self-shadowing be turned off?

The subject says it all: I would like to turn off self-shadowing whe using renanse's ShadowingPass. Should I use a ShadowGate for every occluder, is that even possible, or what other options do I have, if any?

Hmm…  The only way to turn off self shadowing is to add something as an occluder but not in the scene.  Then you could draw the item afterwards in another pass.  But, by default, the shadow technique works as a full-screen technique, not a per scene object type thing.

Ah, good idea, I'll try that. Thank you!

Hello !

I have the same problem.

I don't really understand how to setup an occluder in a non-screen rendering… Could you tell me more ( I'm a noob  :slight_smile: )

and by the way could someone tell me more on this related problem ? : 

Waiting for a better solution I putted my occluders into my objects ( with bad results actually lol), setting two passes, a normal one plus a shadow one, but my shadows aren't synchronized… Any idea too ?

Thanks !!

:stuck_out_tongue:

PS: here is my render code:

passScene.renderPass(DisplaySystem.getDisplaySystem().getRenderer());

passShadows.renderPass(DisplaySystem.getDisplaySystem().getRenderer());

Something missing ?

I have a basketball that I needed to not be self shadowed, heres what works for me. The ballNode does not get attached to scene node, so I added a zbufferstate, lightstate, and cullstate to it.

RenderPass rpass3 = new RenderPass();
      rpass3.add(ballNode);

shadowPass.add(scene);
      shadowPass.addOccluder(scene);
      shadowPass.addOccluder(ballNode);

shadowPass.setRenderShadows(true);

shadowPass.setLightingMethod(ShadowedRenderPass.MODULATIVE);
      pManager.add(shadowPass);
      pManager.add(rpass3);

dont forget to update

protected void update(float interpolation) {
ballNode.updateGeometricState(0, false);
pManager.updatePasses(interpolation);
}

and this is my render

display.getRenderer().clearStatistics();