Can't create a new project - 'cannot find 'jar:file'

I’m new to jME and each time I try to create a new project and press the Finish button I just get the following message:

'Cannot find ‘jar:file:/C:/Program%20Files/jMonkeyProjects/jmonkeyplatform/modules/com-jme3-gde-templates.jar!/com/jme3/gde/templates/GradleDesktopGameProject.zip’ .

I am using v3.6.1-stable on windows 11.

It seems like an SDK issue, maybe @tonihele can give you an answer…

[ NOTE ]

The SDK is not the only way to create a JME project. You can create a Gradle project in any IDE of your choice and simply add whatever jme3 dependencies you need.

You can also use the online JME3 initializer to generate the structure of your Gradle project (which is very easy and I highly recommend it) and open it with your preferred IDE (Apache Netbeans, Intellij IDEA, etc.)

1 Like

Thanks, but ideally I wanted to use the SDK for my project.

Hi,

so you got this release Release SDK Release 3.6.1-sdk4 · jMonkeyEngine/sdk · GitHub? And you chose the installer one?

It does work for Windows 10 and Linux at least. Can you attach the IDE log here? After you have tried this creating a new Gradle project. Under View | IDE log.

Edit: also note that if you had any previous version of the SDK:
There is no upgrade path per se, but if you have had any older SDK version on your computer. This new version might fail to start. To fix this you need to delete the following folder (old SDK settings):
C:\Users\user\AppData\Roaming\jmonkeyplatform (Windows)
/home/user/.jmonkeyplatform (Linux)

3 Likes

Hi, yes I installed the most recent release and have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the SDK.
the IDE log: