Client/Server questions for Zay-ES

Hi @pspeed !

I have some questions how to setup your cool ES into a server and use it on a client side. As Zay-ES should be read-only on the client side.

Questions:

• I create EntityData on the server, then how to get the EntityData properly on the client side to manipulate entities in read-only mode? (The most important question)

• Where should be used EntitySet class? On the client or on the server?

• Should a server use update() loop like in SimpleApplication to do some checks for the ES? Is your server(in Mythruna) extended with Application class (as MonkeyZone-Server is extended)?

This is my first attempt to make a server/client things, so i’ll have many questions. :slight_smile:

Thanks.

It’s kind of complicated to do right… but here is a high level description of how it works…

On the client there is a RemoteEntityData class. This is responsible for turning the EntityData method calls into SpiderMonkey messages and sending them to the server. For any of the write methods, it throws an exception.

When a call requests an EntitySet, it is actually getting a RemoteEntitySet subclass that is asynchronously pulling over the data on a background thread. Code kind of needs to be a little aware of this, for example:

In single player:
EntitySet myEntities = ed.getEntities(…);
…myEntities will have data right away.

In multi-player:
EntitySet myEntities = ed.getEntities(…);
…call returns pretty much right away but the entity set may not have data.
if( myEntities.applyChanges() ) {
…asynchronously delivered data will be delivered here.
}

Normally that’s ok because code is written to detect adds anyway… but code expecting values right away will need to change its strategy.