Conceptual difficulties

First time poster, so first and foremost. . .Hi all.

I’ve been playing with JME lately just trying to get my head around it, as it were. I’m having a concept problem that I really feel a little silly to ask, but can’t seem to find anything by searching or other means, probably because it’s common sense and I’m just making it harder than it is ; ) Just for background: I’m a 15 year professional software engineer, have a few cheesy 2D game-ish things behind me, and am just starting to look at 3D. Have a pretty good grasp of J3D and because of that went on to look at Xith and JME. . .no contest there.

The question is. . . How does one build a universe (scene) that is BIG, ie. Solar System sized? I understand the coordinate system, and as I understand it, that’s to represent a meter, more or less. What is the common way of translating that? Do we just consider a meter a kilometer? What then do I do with ships, just use the hi-res numbers (ie. 5.2323232234)? I guess what I’m looking for is kind of the best practice. . or any practice really ; )

Does anybody have any experience with this that has the patience to answer a stupid question?

Thanks all! Triple thanks to the JME crew. . .so far OUTSTANDING.

gander

P.S. Just for a bit more detail. Play like we’re modelling the Sol system, 1 sun, 9 planets, moons, etc. Maybe an asteroid belt for flair. I would guess that I would probably scale it down by, maybe 10X, but shrug.

"gander" wrote:
I'm a 15 year professional software engineer, have a few cheesy 2D game-ish things behind me, and am just starting to look at 3D. Have a pretty good grasp of J3D and because of that went on to look at Xith and JME. . .no contest there.
Must be my twin then ;)