Creating an application without using SimpleApplication

Hi,

I’m relatively new to jMonkey but have worked myself through the tutorials and noticed that all of them use the SimpleApplication class. While this class is great and will probably initialize my application just fine, I’d like to write my own Application child class, for the sake of better understanding what’s going on behind the scenes and maybe to even have a greater influence on what my application is actually initializing (basically the SimpleApplication feels a bit like a crutch for me which I would rather avoid).

Now I have, of course, looked into what the SimpleApplication class actually does and “copied” those parts of it I felt where necessary for my simple application so that it will show a black screen and the statsView, initializing the graphics and audio renderer, setting several settings in the process and starting the application. Instead of showing the statsView, though, it just shows the black screen and nothing else.

Did I forget anything? Here’s the code I’ve been using for my CustomApplication class:

[java]

package mainPackage.main;

import com.jme3.app.Application;

import com.jme3.app.StatsView;

import com.jme3.renderer.queue.RenderQueue.Bucket;

import com.jme3.scene.Node;

import com.jme3.scene.Spatial.CullHint;

import com.jme3.system.AppSettings;

public class CustomApplication extends Application

{

private Node root = new Node(“rootNode”);

private Node guiRoot = new Node(“guiRoot”);

public CustomApplication()

{

super();

AppSettings settings = new AppSettings(true);

settings.setFullscreen(false);

settings.setWidth(800);

settings.setHeight(600);

settings.setUseInput(true);

settings.setTitle(“TestApplication”);

settings.setRenderer(AppSettings.JOGL);

settings.setAudioRenderer(AppSettings.LWJGL_OPENAL);

this.setSettings(settings);

}

@Override

public void initialize()

{

super.initialize();

guiRoot.setQueueBucket(Bucket.Gui);