Creating grids

What is the best approach to creating grids like this?  See attached jpeg.

The user would then need the ability to rotate, pan, and zoom.

Most importantly, is JMonkey the right tool for building a viewer like this?

You can most certainly accomplish something along these lines in jME :slight_smile:

My guess is that you would be best suited by using the terrain functionality.  How exactly you implement this depends on how/where the data is coming from (a greyscale heightmap, numbers from a database, etc)

Data would be coming from an industry standard grid file with numbers. Thoughts on your approach? I am new to visualization. I have done some camera orientation using Open Inventor.

Thanks,

John

Well if you're using an ESRI grid file, getting the data out of there is fairly straight forward, then you just have to bring it into jME terrain :wink:

http://www.jmonkeyengine.com/wiki/doku.php/starter:hello_terrain

Pay special attention to this bit in that code:

private void homeGrownHeightMap() {
        // The map for our terrain.  Each value is a height on the terrain
        float[] map=new float[]{
        };

// Create a terrain block.  Our integer height values will scale on the map 2x larger x,
        //   and 2x larger z.  Our map's origin will be the regular origin.
        TerrainBlock tb=new TerrainBlock("block",4,
                new Vector3f(2,1,2),
                map,
                new Vector3f(0,0,0));

// Give the terrain a bounding box.
        tb.setModelBound(new BoundingBox());
        tb.updateModelBound();

// Attach the terrain TriMesh to our rootNode
        rootNode.attachChild(tb);
    }

Got it. A few questions.

1. How do I define the cell sizes?
  2. How do I map a color to a cell?
  3. How would I rotate the grid when initializing it?
  4. How would I skew the grid to make it non-orthogonal?

Thanks,

John
jfuqua said:

Got it. A few questions.

1. How do I define the cell sizes?