Custom Cursor

Hello,

I’m new to programming in Java and espacially in JME. I have a problem with the cursor: it leaves the window if I enable it. I’ve read in this forum that I should use my custom cursor, and I found some tutorials about this. But there was one line I couldn’t use. It was

setCursor(cursor);

I just need an object which I attach the cursor to. And that’s my question. Which object is it?

Sincerely, Armin

PS: Sorry for my bad English, but I’m from Germany.

Well I use the cursor class from lwjgl directly. I suggest to look a few pages back in the forum, there was a post about cursors (and some code snippets), I think it was from madjack, but not sure.

@marelsmudda said:
I have a problem with the cursor: it leaves the window if I enable it.

Know that this is really bad form. The cursor should not be constrained inside a window unless you have an extremely good reason. So far I've never heard of a good reason to do this.

I've read in this forum that I should use my custom cursor, and I found some tutorials about this. But there was one line I couldn't use. It was
setCursor(cursor);
I just need an object which I attach the cursor to. And that's my question. Which object is it?

Changing the cursor wouldn't change its constraint.

The only way you can constraint the cursor is by doing it yourself. You verify the location of the mouse cursor and if it's out of the game window's size you "move it back" inside. Even then, I'm not sure you can force that without modifying jME3's code or extending the class. Either, it's still bad form.
@madjack said:
So far I've never heard of a good reason to do this.

cause RTS in a window sucks when the mouse goes out all the time ^^
1 Like
@madjack said:
Know that this is really bad form. The cursor should not be constrained inside a window unless you have an extremely good reason. So far I've never heard of a good reason to do this.