Dragging objects with the mouse?

Hi,

I would like to have mouse control so that I can drag objects (like boxes) around by grabing them with the mouse. I only need to have movement in a 2D plane, since I won't allow movement in the third direction. The reason I want to do this is that I'm trying to build a 3D modeling tool, and I need to have some kind of drag function. Anyone have any good ideas to how this can be implemented?

I'm new to jMonkey but I have been working at least a bit in OpenGL before using C and Nvideas shaders.

I would be glad if someone could help me out! :slight_smile:

I have at least figured out how I want to do it, I will do it like other 3D modeling programs like Maya and Blender, if I want to translate something, tre arrows comes up, one for each axis. If you drag one of the arrows the object will only move along the selected axis.

Now, the problem is that I don't really know how to know how much I should move the object. I would like some way to approximate how long I have dragged the mouse between pressing and then releasing the mouse button. I can do it with screen coordinates, but I want the distance in OpenGL.

Sure I could just scale the distance so that it would be a reasonable distance to move the object, but since it's possible to move around the camera I would also have to include the distance to the camera in the calculation… there must be some better way right?

I can't use raycastning either, as you do when you check which object  you click with the mouse, since when you release the mouse you doesn't neccissary point on an object.

I include a picture of how movement of a box looks like for the moment (even though the moving part isn't working correctly…)

anyone has any good ideas about this?