FPS low though using simple examples

Hello,

I’m new to JME and currently trying the basic tutorials from the wiki. All of them work, but my stats say that I only have about 60 frames per second.

I could imagine that it should be much more since the example sceneries (a (one (1))) simple cube isn’t a very complex scene, isn’t it?

Maybe you enabled vsync?

What hardware are you running? Console output should give you some stats on that side of things. And what @normen said, just double check that.

You probably had enabled the option vsync as normen said, it is in the start screen of the app when you chose the resolution.

Hi and thanks for your answers,

unfortunately it’s not that easy: i double checked, and I do not have vsync enabled :frowning:

My hardware is quite old. A standard PC about 6 years old. “Normal” games like minecraft run with good performance, so I thought that it should be better with easy scenes (one cube in the scene graph).

Also it seems, that the framerate is somehow “limited”. There’s no evidence for that, but I tried to increase the number of cube to draw in the scene graph. A long time there’s happening nothing. When I reach about 5000 cubes arranged in a flat array, the framerate drops. I can understand this. But before I do not have more than 2000 cubes in my scene there’s happening nothng with the framerate. It stays constant at 59-60 FPS.

If vsync is on then you will get the behavior you have… so perhaps it is being forced in the driver settings or something.

If the single blue test cube is only running at a fixed 60 FPS then that is very suspicious. It means the rendering is locked to the refresh rate as in “vsynch enabled”.

So it certainly seems like vsynch is enabled.

To avoid misunderstandings: when you talking about “vsync enabled” you mean that “vsync checkbox” in the configuration window of jMonkeyEngine that appears when I’m starting the application?

Well, that checkbox is really DISabled :frowning: