Game Architecture

Hi,

I’m new to JME and after reading the tutorials for beginners I think I got a general idea of how to use the engine. Now I would like to code a small test game just to get used to the it. Problem is: I don’t know how to get started. What I would really need would be some general advice on game architecture or a sample project with source code. All sample games I’ve seen so far are more like tech demos and already compiled.

Watch Monkeyzone if you need a testproject.

In general the golden rule of programming is: First the concept then the code.

You can program and watch where it leads but without at least the general idea what has to be done you will just lose yourself in the first few days of progress and stop your project depressed of life and what it gave you in the awfull process of development. :stuck_out_tongue:

After the general idea what your game shall be like you have to decide how you achieve your most important goals like gameplay and questsystems aso.

You will encounter a lot of problems in your progress so the more you plan the better you will do. :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

Well, actually I didn’t intend to produce a “real” game not even just a very small one.

I wanted to make some kind of test setup to play with the engine. Just a simple terrain and an object that can be moved. Then this could be improved. Maybe I would give the player the ability to jump and add a few platforms. Then add a few enemies that simply move towards the player. After that I could code some kind of GUI start screen…

Nothing fancy just a testcase to practice.

The problem is that even something as small as this needs a structure but I don’t know common structures in JME.

I would like to learn the JME way of problem solving.

The tutorials just showed how to achieve one special feature at a time. Moreover everything was done in just one class.

I don’t know how to put it all together.