Generating a custom mesh based on two existing meshes

Hi guys,

A quick disclaimer: I’m relatively new to jME/game programming and only recently have begun to dig into the nitty-gritty of meshes. So apologies if I’m trying to do things in a dumb way or asking somewhat dumb questions; hopefully the answers will help me ask less dumb ones in the future!

I’m interested in making fairly simple meshes by combining multiple geometrical primitive meshes and have been looking at the custom mesh tutorial at https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme3:advanced:custom_meshes. For starters, I thought I’d try to combine two cylinders into an “X” shape. So I figured I’d see if something like this would work (this is somewhat verbose but hopefully it’s easy to follow what I’m trying):

Mesh makeCustomXMesh(float size) {

Mesh halfOfTheX = new Cylinder(20, 20, size/5, size*2, true);

Quaternion rotate45DegAroundY = new Quaternion();

rotate45DegAroundY.fromAngleAxis((float)Math.PI/4, new Vector3f(0f,1f,0f));

Quaternion rotateMinus45DegAroundY = new Quaternion();

rotateMinus45DegAroundY.fromAngleAxis(-(float)Math.PI/4, new Vector3f(0f,1f,0f));

List vertexList = new ArrayList();

getVerticesFromMeshAndAddToListWithRotation(vertexList, halfOfTheX, rotate45DegAroundY);

getVerticesFromMeshAndAddToListWithRotation(vertexList, halfOfTheX, rotateMinus45DegAroundY);

Mesh newMesh = new Mesh();

Vector3f[] vertexArray = vertexList.toArray(new Vector3f[2]);

newMesh.setBuffer(Type.Position, 3, BufferUtils.createFloatBuffer(vertexArray));

newMesh.updateBound();

return newMesh;

}

void getVerticesFromMeshAndAddToListWithRotation(List vertexList, Mesh originalMesh, Quaternion rotationQuat) {

int numberOfLegTriangles = originalMesh.getTriangleCount();

Vector3f v1 = new Vector3f(), v2 = new Vector3f(), v3 = new Vector3f();

for (int i=0; i < numberOfLegTriangles; i++) {

originalMesh.getTriangle(i, v1, v2, v3);

v1 = rotationQuat.mult(v1);

v2 = rotationQuat.mult(v2);