GeoProcessing, latitude and longitude in Jmonkey

Hi guys,

I’m fairly new to JMonkey and 3d programming in general. I’m trying to do some aircraft modeling, basically model their flight path.
The data I have is a bunch of latitude/longitude points which represent the flightpath of a particular aircraft.

I was messing around with a simple motionpath with a few waypoints and having a spatial plane follow the path- this seemed like exactly what I need.

When I try to scale it up and convert the latitude and longitude to an xyz vector to create the waypoints, things don’t seem to work. Do I need a GIS service like GeoTools to properly represent the flight paths?

I tried to convert the lat/long using the formulas here: http://swardsonstudios.com/?p=65

Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated

@sabredog said: ...things don't seem to work.

Can you be more specific? That could mean any of a thousand things… at least 900 of which are entirely surmountable problems.

Fair point, sorry.

I suspect my latitude/longitude conversion isn’t right which is giving me a weird graphical representation.

Looks like the waypoints are all crammed very close together. I don’t have an error message or exception to post.

You are trying to convert latitude and longitude to points on a sphere?

What math are you using? Maybe there is an error.

Yes, that’s what I’m trying to do, convert the latitude and longitude to a 3fvector.

[java]
double lt = Math.toRadians(x.getLatitude());
double lng = Math.toRadians(x.getLongitude());
double radius = 50;
double alt = Math.toRadians((double) x.getAltitude() + radius);
double x1, y, z;

x1 = radius * Math.cos(lt) * Math.cos(lng);
y = radius * -Math.sin(lt);
z = alt * Math.cos(lt) * Math.sin(lng);
[/java]