Getting Started

Hi,

im completely new in game development. I have chose jme (it was very hard to decide between xith and jme).

I had some problems with getting started tutorial.

Basically, the command-line CVS commands you need to execute are as follows: (make sure to replace [java.net username] with your java.net username)

i think, it is hard to understend: … your java.net username … - what, where, why?,  :slight_smile:

• solved

java -Djava.library.path=./lib -cp ./lib/lwjgl.jar;./lib/jogg-0.0.5.jar;./lib/jorbis-0.0.12.jar;./target/jme.jar;./target/jmetest.jar;./target/jmetest-data.jar jmetest.effects.TestDynamicSmoker

this command didnt work for me

i had to add all jars from jme/target directory to classpath

• i understand why, no problem

i had to move all dlls from jme/lib directory to jme directory (it is working directory by lunching demos)

• i dont undersand why -Djava.library.path=./lib doesnt work

(i tried relative, absolute path, /, , , and more)

any working advice? :slight_smile:

thx

On which platform?

I use the following.

Windows and dll in ./native for an own project: java -Djava.library.path=.native -cp .;lib/jme.jar;libjme-effects.jar;libjme-model.jar;libjme-sound.jar;libjme-terrain.jar;libjme-ui.jar;nativelwjgl.jar -jar Client.jar

In ./native there is : DevIL.dll ILU.dll ILUT.dll lwjgl-devil.dll lwjgl-fmod3.dll lwjgl.dll lwjglaudio.dll

Linux and dll in ./lib to run demos: java -Djava.library.path=./lib -cp ./lib/lwjgl.jar:./lib/jogg-0.0.5.jar:./lib/jorbis-0.0.12.jar:./jme.jar:./jmetest.jar:./jmetest-data.jar:./jme-effects.jar:./jme-model.jar:./jme-terrain.jar:./jme-ui.jar jmetest.TestChooser

This setup is just out of the installation with all native libraries and 3rd party jars in ./lib.

hm weird,

im able to run it from ant with "-Djava.library.path=lib" jvm param

i dont understand where is the problem :slight_smile:

Kokoth,