Git rename master for wiki

I am new to git command line and as such there’s a greater chance of me fragging things unintentionally. I would like to discuss the commands I plan to use during the last stage of transitioning the wiki to the new format.

For transitioning to the new wiki format I am using a new branch named master-new.

The last stage of the wiki transition would require me to rename the current master branch to master-old and the master-new branch to master without losing history and doing so in a way that would be easiest for all those who have clones of the wiki.

The commands I intend to use and the order I intend to use…

git checkout -b master-new

# make changes, push to origin
git push origin master-new

git checkout master

# rename the branch "master" to "master-old"
git branch -m master master-old

# rename "master-new" to "master"
git branch -m master-new master

# push "master-old"
git push origin master-old

Then in the web interface I would change the default branch to master-old. Then delete master and push new master.

# delete "master"
git push origin --delete master

# push new master
git push origin master

Then in web interface select the master branch as default.

I combined info from stack overflow and git docs to come up with this. If there are problems with this or a better way let me know please.

Renaming the master branch is SUPER odd. Why do you want to do that instead of just merging?

Was suggested to do that. I think to keep copy branch of last master.

Would creating a master-old branch for posterity, then rebasing the master-new branch onto current master branch be better?

I don’t understand why you’d want to hide the transaction.