GreenForest plugin

I’m finishing my current game, but I’ll I’m doing is working on Blender and no coding is requires. So I’m hungry for coding.

I want to make a forest plugin for JMonkey. Right now I don’t see any plugin available that doesn’t require a degree in rocket-surgery in order to be used. My plugin should be as easy to use as the Skybox plugin (https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme3:advanced:sky) that jmonkey currently has.

Moreover, I should state that I’m not aiming to make a gui for it. If I do make a gui it would be because it was a stretch goal.

A bit of specifications:

-The plugin will only use etc1 textures for maximun Mobile and Desktop compatibility.

-It will use imposters.

-Since I’ll be using etc1 textures, no transparency will be available. So I intend to make use of shaders on opengl es 2.0 to pick a color (like black or orange) to indicate the places of transparency. I thinks this is possible, but I’m not sure since I’ve never done it before.

-Hopefully it will be wind sensitive and touch sensitive.

Right now I don’t know all the best techniques to make a good forest plugin but I’ll search youtube and the web to see what are the current trends. Hopefully it should be as fancy as the Forests on the Crysis games =D.

3 Likes

would be nice if u really did this :slight_smile: but sometimes it is harder than it looks :slight_smile: still following this thread and waiting for first results

I can see that your aim is android, but what’s the point of limiting to etc1? Why not let the user choose?
Also for the transparency part it defies your “it’s simple to use” goal. There is a transparency modes to make black area transparent, but very often in a folliage texture you will have pretty dark area. So you’ll end up having transparency where it shouldn’t. And the idea to have a “orange” or whatever color for transparency is a lot more complicated and will force users to rework texture so that they fit your plugin.