How to create and design big worlds with jMonkeyEngine?

Hello dear community,

I recently thought about how one can make big worlds for example for an open-world game. In general the game world is one giant level (scene) divided into several areas (chunks). But you can’t just have everything loaded at the same time due to memory and performance reasons.

That’s why I am interested in how to create such big worlds. In my opinion, I can’t just use the SDK or jMonkeyBuilder because I think it’s difficult to handle such big scenes (memory, performance). I used the SDK for my current game scene which is not that big and even that seemed to became difficult sometimes.

Would I have to create my own application for editing such huge worlds or does anybody know of some technique how this can be done? Sorry if this is a noob question but I am pretty new to this field.

Many thanks for your answers :slight_smile:

Best regards
Domenic

I think a good start would be to just make it in-game using some sort of level editor system. Basically flycam and place/move stuff around.

The benefits would be that you can see if the scene is too intensive in real time and works in terms of physics and other game mechanics without having to exit some outside editor and load it up in the game itself.

There’s just the work of making a saving system that logs these objects in a way that you can then generate them from code.

The bonus is that you can then also easily include it into the final product as a modding tool.

4 Likes

This looks like a game that makes games. It would be very nice, I liked the idea.

Hi @MoffKalast thanks for your quik answer

Okay, I think this would be the most tricky part… (implementing all the level editor features like in the SDK for example)

Yeah, but this seems doable :slight_smile:

What do you think about the terrain? Would there only be one huge terrain or several “smaller” ones? I don’t know how it is done in such games, I am sorry… :slight_smile: