How to simply render a Spatial?

Hi,

I am new to JME and have a specific need : render a simple scene on demand, and nothing else.

Is there a way to do this ?

I first thought there would something like a “Rendering” class with a render() function, which would take a Spatial and a Camera as argument and would return an image, but the only thing approaching this dream is the RenderManager class, and I just don’t understand how it works !

Did anyone ever managed to do this ?

I assume you want to render your scene “offscreen” so without showing it in your jME window - I’m currently working on a similar problem, I’ll post my code located on another machine soon

This code is designed for offscreen cloud texture rendering:

Uhm, I can’t figure out how to post some code here - uploaded it there http://paste.posativ.org/SJfFC6ni for the moment.

This is a SceneProcessor which allows me to hook in the rendering cycle to pre-render the cloud image (not implemented yet, only a demo scene in pure orange :wink: ) before applying it as a texture to the final scene…

1 Like

Look at TestRenderToMemory

http://code.google.com/p/jmonkeyengine/source/browse/trunk/engine/src/test/jme3test/post/TestRenderToMemory.java

the setupOffscreenView() method is what you’re looking for

Edit : @cmur2 example is nice too, a processor is the way to go.

1 Like

Oh thanks for your affirmation, while coding I was wondering if there is an easier way to achieve my desired effect since I don’t use methods like postQueue or postFrame etc… but I makes sense since I want jME to render my cloud image before the final scene.

@cmur BTW you should not render the clouds in the init method, it’s useless since this render result will never be used.

For your information : preframe is called before the actual render of the viewport, post queue is called just before the render, but after the scenegraph update (update spaptial transforms, and controls update) and the culling process occured.