Implementing textarea

Hello,

I would like to implement a textarea control. It’s a box where you can write text in. However, I want only a few features for now:

-Not editable by the user of the GUI, only for displaying text for now

-Has methods append and appendLine which lets you append text after the old one or in a new line

-You can set the size of it, but the user cannot drag it bigger or smaller

-You can turn on horizontal scrolling: If it is on, it will scroll the text horizontally and make a linebreak only with appendLine, otherwise it will make a linebreak when the current line is longer than the horizontal end of the textarea

-It adds a vertical scrollbar when the text does not fit in the height anymore

Now I have no experience with GUI programming. So I am asking for tips how I can implement this in Nifty. What classes/methods can I use to guarantee those features?

I know how to do control definitions, I am asking for implementation specifics for this kind of textarea.

Hello,

I think that this will help you on gui. Here is a tutorial for custom text, and here is some code for adding text:

[java]guiNode.detachAllChildren();

guiFont = assetManager.loadFont(“Interface/Fonts/Default.fnt”);

BitmapText helloText = new BitmapText(guiFont, false);

helloText.setSize(guiFont.getCharSet().getRenderedSize());

helloText.setText(“Hello World”);

//300 is x coordinates, 0 is y

helloText.setLocalTranslation(300, helloText.getLineHeight(), 0);

guiNode.attachChild(helloText);[/java]

Hope this helps!

dangerdoc

@myamo: It’s not difficult. Add a panel and add a text element to it. Just look into the nifty source code and see how the stardard control definitions are created.

guiNode.detachAllChildren();
guiFont = assetManager.loadFont("Interface/Fonts/Default.fnt");
BitmapText helloText = new BitmapText(guiFont, false);
helloText.setSize(guiFont.getCharSet().getRenderedSize());
helloText.setText("Hello World");
//300 is x coordinates, 0 is y