Is this feasible in jMonkey

I am working on a project where I have to be able to move buildings from a menu to a landscape similar to SimCity. Is this decently feasible in jMonkey? Or will it be extremely difficult? Thank you.

Absolutely feasible. The level of difficulty depends on your own skill with the language, programming structure and jmonkey itself. If you already know java, go practice in the tutorials with jmonkey. I can tell you with great certainty that however you accomplish this goal of yours, jmonkey will be one of, if not THE easiest implementation method.

any-things possible with imagination

wezrule said:
any-things possible with imagination

+time +skill +patience. ;)
1 Like

+alcohol

1 Like
wezrule said:
+alcohol

Why am I suddenly thinking of a Homer Simpson quote: "Ah, alcohol... the cause of, and solution to, all of life's problems..."
2 Likes

Haha lol. I am ok with java. Im no expert but I can hold my own. And I have until around mid-december for it so that should be enough time.

Thanks everyone for the help, and a couple laughs.

Definitely possible in jME. We’ve got an application (using jME2) that allows users to upload new buildings, move them around (if they have the right permissions), and post comments.

A few things.

• Think long and hard about your GUI. The modality is a bit different from a game unfortunately and requires more programming than your typical 'point crosshairs and shoot target' interactions.

• Scale. Depending on the size and area of your scene, you likely won't have the headroom in float-precision to have a scale like 1 unit = 1 meter. Make sure your modelers understand this while they're working.

• Keep artists in the loop. As noted above, make sure they understand scale. Also make sure they understand the concept of zeroing out models before import (so that they can be placed and located effectively) and check that the procedures they're using in their DCC tools are translating correctly into the engine.