Jme 1 to jme 2 transition

Hi

I'm new in game programming and 3D and I'm not familiarized with jME too.

Recently I've been inherited 2d game project and it's based in jme 1.

And there are no old member that could can help me(yea, i think i'm in trouble :frowning: )

The main problem is it has been developed on ubuntu and when I tried to run in windows, on some point of the game it hangs… well… about this problem I think I should open new topic in troubleshooting section.

My question is : According to http://www.jmonkeyengine.com/wiki/doku.php?id=jme_to_jme2_changes  ,  It doesn't specify if I should re-structure the project code or just replacing code as specified in the link above will work properly.

I don't know if  the jme design has changed that possibly would lead to re-structuring the project code.

Or if I don't need to be worried about it?

I'll be appreciated with all the suggestion :slight_smile:

Regards,

yeonhoo

You only need to substitute the changed methods and references, no restructuring required. You'll know you have it right when it compiles without error. :wink:

Good luck with your new project! Can you tells us a little more about it?

the jme1 to jme2 changes are mostly painless.

Only a few classes have been renamed (Alphastate -> BlendState) and a few methods or constructors have a few parameters more or less.

It should be no problem to convert any project from jme1 to 2.

yeonhoo said:

The main problem is it has been developed on ubuntu and when I tried to run in windows, on some point of the game it hangs...

Make sure you have all the required native libraries (for windows these are *.dll files) in your java library path. But if the game starts and dies during gameplay, then its likely something else.
nymon said:

yeonhoo said:

The main problem is it has been developed on ubuntu and when I tried to run in windows, on some point of the game it hangs...