Jme 3.7

I believe it’s time to begin working toward a v3.7 release of JMonkeyEngine.
Is anyone interested in acting as our release manager for JMonkeyEngine 3.7.0?

The release manager is responsible for driving the release process. This includes:

• deciding the scope of the release: which features/fixes to include,
  • setting the schedule,
  • organizing any required testing,
  • tracking issues and pull requests,
  • generating alpha/beta/production releases,
  • writing up the release notes, and
  • publicizing the final product.

While acting as release manager requires some technical skills (such as Java, Gradle, Git, GitHub, and Nexus), communication/people skills are just as important. If you need guidance or advice, there at least 3 former release managers (@Ali_RS, @pspeed, and myself) active here at the Forum.

Any volunteers?

11 Likes

I’m ready to try :slight_smile: I’ll need tight guidance since I’m not an expert in any of the tech skills you mentioned.

10 Likes

Thanks for volunteering, @adi.barda . This is an exciting time!

Unless someone else steps forward or objects, you’ll manage the release.

I have plenty of questions:

• What sorts of guidance will you need? Are you expecting any other help from the JME community? I realize you can’t anticipate everything you might need, but some examples might ease my mind.
  • What’s your vision? For v3.7.0, what changes (including bugfixes and features) would you like to make to the Engine, relative to the current “master” branch? I’m particularly curious about how the framegraph framework might fit into you plans.
  • Do you also have plans for the SDK and/or the Wiki?
  • When would you like to begin managing the release?
  • When would you like feature freeze to occur?
2 Likes

Thanks! my motivation is to contribute some of my time to the JME effort.