jME scene editor

I'm an artist and very new to Jmonkey but I'm working with a programmer on a small game at the moment using Collada .DAE as our prime file foremat (I believe this format is supported from what I've seen of the features list). I was curious how scene editing is done and if there are any scene editors out there for it.

From an art point of view I'm abit confused about how things like pickups and other interactables are placed in an environment without one. I know environments could simply be one large model but I'm still at a loss at how to add doors, lights (alough they could be placed down from the modelling package), partical emitters, spawn areas, items ect.

Any advice is very much appreciated.

MarkB

The core engine is a bit lower level than the things you describe.

JME will load and render the objects, detect collisions etc. But your code handles the interaction.

You can use a tool to design your scene. I think scene worker is being developed for this purpose, but there's no current standard. And you still have to load and build the scene in the way your game code wants it. It is possible to use external tools depending on your requirements.

My example:

For Exodus Defence I used GROME which is a graphical tool. I sculpt and splat the terrain then place models on it. I tag certain things with certain flags - eg. "scenery" "damageable" "playable".

The tool then exports this all in a text file.

The game parses this text file, which contains data on the object template (what is it), position, rotation etc as well as flags. It then loads the relevant models and constructs the game entities.

This works well. However all the code for loading, and interacting with the scene is game code not jME core code.

yeah thats really what I need, mainly a graphical tool for building worlds out of dae models that will work within jmonkey and using placeholder item models that I can set flags for.