jME3 Math for Dummies (Complete)

Hey,

I started working on a document to visualize the basic vector / math concepts in jME3 for the absolute beginners, tell me what you think: Link to presentation.

If you cant see the bottom part in full screen mode, make your browser window more narrow, somehow it only reacts to width, not height.

I want to add interpolation and some more rotation things as well as lookAt still, any other things you think should be definitely in?

Cheers,

Normen

Edit: Also check out the new and in progress SceneGraph for Dummies presentation.

4 Likes

I love it, just feels like being in kindergarten again hehe

If you substract the location B from the location A, you get the directional vector from A to B (or whas it the other way around? :slight_smile: ), thats definitely something you should know :).

Hmm one more basic princible i would add is the difference between local and world transforms, but that isnt math ofc.

Thanks! Yeah, maybe a “SceneGraph for Dummies” would be cool too :slight_smile:

btw its grown nicely now, good work

i think i encountered an error (not a big deal, just a typo)

slide 30, last point where you create a quaternion from “axes”, its supposed to be angles i think (and the method is then q.fromAngles(float [] angles) :wink:

Rapidly skimmed and I found it very interesting.

There’s a question that popped up though in frame 31.

The Quaternion C (quatC) in the picture shows all 3 axis have rotated. From what I have seen and understood in those frames, I think only the Z and Y axis should have rotated right? If so maybe removing the X rotation diagram would remove any confusion.

It’s nitpicking I agree, but as I said before, I’m visual, and it’s that kind of thing that attract my attention immediately and could possibly confuse me… :slight_smile: