JMP3 performance issues and Nifty rendering

Hi all,

I’m a total noob at JMonkey (though I have quite a lot of .Net and Java experience) but have spent a couple of weeks playing around. Apart from the problems it’s been a lot of fun trying to work the framework out.

JMP3 (Alpha 3) is installed on a windows 7 virtual machine running on a MacBook Pro notebook, there is 2G of memory allocated to the virtual machine.

I am developing in eclipse because of (1) below.

I’ve experience a number of problems, the most pressing being

1. JMP3 memory consumption and CPU thrashing. This gets so bad that the IDE is unusable. Is this something others experienced or have I done something really silly?

2. The NiftyGui examples work really well on their own (Looked really sharp and stood out) but when I rewrote them to render through the JMonkey API the controls looked terrible. The colors were patchy and bled past the control boundaries, the effects didn’t work etc.

Am I missing something?

Can anyone help?

Thanks

Cheers

Did you update your graphics drivers? This sounds strange.

Hey normen,

Thanks for getting back to me so quickly what drivers do I need ? I thought I read all the documentation, could you point me in t the right direction?

I dont know, you get them from your graphics card vendors site, maybe amd or nvidia?

I have an Nvidia graphics card on the Mac the drivers are up to date (they should be kept up to date by a scheduled update from apple).

VMFusionware had this to say about their graphics

Enable 3D graphics for the following virtual machines:

• Windows XP: DirectX 9.0c with Shader Model 3 and OpenGL 2.1

• Windows Vista and Windows 7: DirectX 9.0EX with Aero and OpenGL 2.1

I using Windows 7.

I don’t understand why the rendering is perfect when done directly from Nifty, but degrades when done through the JMonkey-Nifty API.