(June 2023) Monthly WIP Screenshot Thread

Coming soon to Minie … Minkowski-sum collision shapes:
Minkowski

18 Likes

Is that another form of compound/complex shapes? just curious

1 Like

The new shape differs from a compound collision shape in several ways:

• It combines shapes using Minkowski addition instead of set union.
  • The base shapes must be convex, and the resulting shape is also convex.
  • It can’t translate or rotate shapes.
  • It combines only 2 base shapes at a time instead of an arbitrary number.

It opens up new possibilities, which I am currently exploring.

4 Likes

Hi all,
some topics I am studying:

• Procedural terrain generation based on Perlin Noise in JME.
  • Procedural vegetation placement (trees, grass …).
  • Graphical editors to modify terrain generation parameters (developed with lemur).
  • Debug tools (developed with jfx) to visualize the volume of patches that make up the terrain and dynamic LOD .
  1. I am trying to figure out how to optimize the geometries: InstanceNode or BatchNode, which one is better?
  2. To optimize the physical volumes of tree trunks I was thinking of merging all BoxCollisionShapes under one CompoundCollisionShape: is this the right approach?

Hope you enjoy.

12 Likes

I think so. Ideally, all non-moving bodies in a physics space should be merged into a single body, and that typically leads to a compound shape.

2 Likes

Playing around a bit tonight trying to create an underground mine look.

9 Likes

little RPG progress screenshot:

(thanks for everyone’s work on jmonkey)

17 Likes

A quick work with animation using Lemur

12 Likes

Creating a wagon model in Blender and using it in Ialon for its rail system.

Below : a video of a wagon journey in a cave, on an Android device.

8 Likes

so much minecraft, looks cool :slight_smile:

1 Like

I have been working hard the last month on getting some cool features added to my editor Envision3D.