Lemur Questions for ParticleMonkey editor

So i’ve been spending some time working on my 3rd attempt at a particle editor for ParticleMonkey. Since I’m pretty new to lemur I have a few questions that have popped up.

1 - I’ve made a custom curve editor component. I’ve gotten it to work by using several custom meshes that I tweak to show the curve + handles to edit the curve. This works, but the GUI component doesn’t recognize the meshes so it doesn’t resize to fit them. It looks like the lemur components don’t respect the preferred size unless it has a child element. Is this correct? What is the best way to handle this?

2 - Currently I have a mouse listener as part of the ‘Curve Editor’ and then check manually if the mouse is over the curve editing handles. Is this the best way to handle it? It is a little messy because it requires custom meshes.

3 - Is there a good way to lock components to a side of the screen? Trying to lock my properties panel to the right side of the screen has lots of issues because of the constant resizing depending on content changes.

4 - From searching the forum it looks like scrollable content panels still aren’t a thing for lemur? Is the best way to handle this still a custom viewport?

5 - Is there a good way to do context menus? I’m assuming modal popups might be best here?

I’m not sure I have enough details to answer this question.

Preferred size is for the parent to perform its layout capabilities and position and size the child.

A custom “component” (in your nomenclature) that manages its own meshes should report that preferred size that it wants to be and then try its best to respect the size the parent pushes down to it.

But we should also be careful about terminology. I’ve assumed that by “editor component” that you mean “a spatial that you want to play nice in the GUI”. Let’s refer to these as ‘elements’ or ‘GUI elements’ going forward. For Lemur, a “component” is one of the layers in a “GUI element”.