Light goes through walls/models

In my game, I have a spotlight attached to the gun in the bottom right hand corner of the camera which faces the direction of the camera. This spotlight, seems to go through walls. I know this is just the way the spotlight shader works, cast a cone and shade pixels contatined in the cone, but is it possible to make it not go through walls? I thought of casting a ray in the update and make the spotlight only last until the closest collision but that would be very CPU intensive, any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

You’ll have to use a shadow Processor, look at BasicShadowRenderer.

I’ve had a look and it seems to me that it uses a set direction and that the shadow is only set for those directions, I also had a look at the PssmShadowRenderer which gave me the same results

yes, set the same direction as the light

in your update loop do shadowRenderer.setDirection(light.getDirection());

Im no expert but wont that be extremely heavy on the CPU?

It won’t…just 3 floats assignment…it can handle it…

But what about the constant shadow mapping??? I dont know, Im not a dev :stuck_out_tongue:

I tried what you suggested although the light still shines through walls, the shadows only made the game look weird. So the shadow renderer doesnt work. Any other ideas?

ironeye42 said:
But what about the constant shadow mapping??? I dont know, Im not a dev :P

oh sorry i thought you were talking about the direction assignment.
It's more heavy than not casting shadows for sure.....but it cast shadows, and since it's what your looking for, i'm afraid there is no other way.

ironeye42 said:
I tried what you suggested although the light still shines through walls, the shadows only made the game look weird. So the shadow renderer doesnt work. Any other ideas?

What's weird....could you elaborate...maybe a screen shot?