Lines faster than Triangles?

This question is more of a curiosity than something that I “need to know to get things done”.

I’m new to 3D programming (but not new to programming in general). I’m trying to develop one component of a game what will be a hex-based grid system for the game. I’ve written the code to generate the hex meshes (as 4 triangles, to optimize as much as possible). I can display the hexes in a proper grid pattern for the landscape or board, or whatever you wish to call it). For a simple example where I actually use 6 triangles for a hex (which is less than optimum) I got to wondering: are 6 lines faster or just as fast as 6 triangles?

I don’t remember seeing anything in the documents about this, but a quick Google search brought me to http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/cc163449.aspx , where they mention:

“In 3D graphics programming, there are no lines, no Bezier spline curves, no rectangles or ellipses. Every 3D object is a collection of triangles in three-dimensional coordinate space. Triangles are intrinsic to 3D programming because each individual triangle always defines a flat surface, yet collections of triangles can mimic a solid object and even approximate a curved surface. As you get deeper into 3D programming, you’ll start seeing everything in your life in terms of triangles.”

Now, if Microsoft uses this (in DirectX, etc) then maybe it’s really just how every 3D package/framework works (at its base) and that lines are really just a triangle (points A, B, and C, where A = B and A != C). If so, then this would mean that drawing 6 lines would be equivalent to 6 triangles (for an outline shape only [think: triangle.setMode(Mesh.Mode.Lines)]). Is this true? Or are lines optimized somehow?

Sorry if this is the wrong place to ask about this (maybe this is just a general framework question instead of a jMonkey question), but this seemed as good a place as any to ask.

I just hope I’m making sense. :slight_smile:

Thanks,

Jason