lookAt/face direction issue

Hey,

I don’t want to sound repetitive, I know there are a bunch of other lookAt() topics concerning the almost exact thing, but I’ve read through all the forum and I still haven’t got an answer for my problem. I’ve also google’d, searched the FAQ and even tried weird combinations of rotation that really surprised me. As a last resource, I’m letting the community take this unsolvable issue I’m having. I’m really new to all this (began learning JME 3 weeks ago, as for Java, it’s only been 5 months).

Here’s the thing: I’m just testing a simple way of making a Spatial (in this case a cube, real simple) follow the character (player) which in this case is another cube. The player has it’s own movement and all the good stuff. What my mind came up with is to simply look at the direction where the player is and move to that same direction it’s facing in a straight line. When the player moves, it then faces the new position of the player and move to that direction. So far so good.

The problem is with the AI (can’t really call it an AI, can I?). It doesn’t look at the player. It moves to the direction it’s pointing at, though. I’m posting the code below:

[java]package jme3test.helloworld;

import com.jme3.app.SimpleApplication;

import com.jme3.collision.CollisionResults;

import com.jme3.font.BitmapText;

import com.jme3.input.ChaseCamera;

import com.jme3.input.KeyInput;

import com.jme3.input.controls.AnalogListener;

import com.jme3.input.controls.KeyTrigger;

import com.jme3.material.Material;

import com.jme3.math.ColorRGBA;

import com.jme3.math.Quaternion;

import com.jme3.math.Vector3f;

import com.jme3.scene.Geometry;

import com.jme3.scene.Spatial;

import com.jme3.scene.shape.Box;

public class HelloJME3 extends SimpleApplication {

public static void main(String[] args) {

new HelloJME3().start();

}

protected Geometry player;

protected Geometry ai;

protected BitmapText guiPosition;

@Override

public void simpleInitApp() {