Looking for an online PDF book on JMonkeyEngine for beginners

Hello,

I am from Ukraine, and currently it seems that shipments to Ukraine are not available on sites like Amazon, so I can’t order a printed book.

Right now, I’ve watched several YouTube courses on JMonkey, but none of them were satisfying. The one I’m watching now seems to be aimed at experienced game developers, because there are many terms I don’t understand, and they are not explained.

Could you please advise a comprehensive book on JMonkey which is suitable for people with zero game development experience? I have a bit of experience in enterprise Java and know a bit of Java fundamentals (core), so I’m not completely new to programming but I am completely new to gamedev.

I googled some “JMonkey for beginners” book or something like that. Is it good enough? If so, do you know where I can buy online PDF version?

Maybe the book is not the best choice for me, and I should study your free documentation? Or is it aimed at game developers as well that just want to use JMonkey as a new tool?

1 Like

Hello, book is good, but myself i dont needed it. Im sorry i cant answer first question part.

About last question:
There are a lot of good examples and resources.

Starting from Wiki, github examples, HUB topics, and JME Tests showing some possibilities.

Anyway best start would be find some good example game project. Best if ECS based one.

I belive book might be best start, tho its not the only way, remember.

1 Like

Thanks for your reply. It’s quite bad we don’t have any JMonkey books at book shops in Ukraine. At least I haven’t found ones.

jMonkeyEngine 3.0 Game Development: A Practical Guide — is this book good for total beginners in game development?

Hi,

Maybe check the one from Packtpub

1 Like

Keep in mind, those books are for JME 3.0, which is quite old these days.