Material using vertex colors with texture overlay

Hi everyone :wink:

In our game we are using vertex colors only for displaying objects (no tetxures at all) but only vertex colors look a bit boring. So I thought if we would have different textures with different patterns and multiply them with the vertex colors the objects would get some better looking skin. For example, having a standard grass pattern texture which gets multiplied with the green vertex colors of the grass, therefore making the grass look better.
Unfortunately, I am pretty new to 3D-Graphics so this question might sound stupid, but is there already a material for that in Jme or would I have to write one by myself (which would be a long task for me I guess with all the GLSL stuff to learn).

Yes. Both of the standard materials support this.

Well thanks. So I could keep using the default Lighting Material, but which parameters will I have to change in order to achieve that? The vertex color should still be the main color for the models, so setting the diffuse map wouldn´make sense right? So what do I have to change in order to multiply the texture with the vertex color?

Set both and flag UseVertexColor if I remember correct.

Really that easy? :wink:
Thanks I´ll try it and come back if it works or not.

And you always could look at shader code to figure out how it works. :chimpanzee_wink:

Or the documentation.

Yeah I already looked into it, but as I as I said I am pretty new to 3D-Graphics so that´s all a bit overwhealming looking at the code :wink:
But I found this line inside the Lighting material so I guess this piece of code is doing the magic I am searching for :slight_smile:

#ifdef VERTEX_COLOR
      AmbientSum *= inColor.rgb;
      DiffuseSum *= inColor;
#endif

Yeah, documentation is a faster way, but source code gives more experience :chimpanzee_winktongue:

Yeah i guess so :smile: