Multi Textured Particles

i'm just getting into jme's particle world (using jme cvs) and ran into some questions

a) what would be the best way to have multiple textures (various particle shapes) on a single particle system? (like multiple snowflake textures)

b) i'm also working on something like a foliage/leaves simulation (leaves dont 'die', they just lie around with some physical interaction, it needs to run at 60fps min with 3000-4000 particles) - what is the best practice here: is it better to create multiple texturemapped quads or use a particlesystem to make use of the fast batch-geometry? i'd naturally would go for the quads because the jme particle system seems to complicate things here / although i cant seem to get decent framerates with the multiple quad variant. what do you think?

Building a Million Particle System entirely on the GPU.

Abstract of the paper:

Particle systems have long been recognized as an essential building block for detail-rich and lively visual environments. Current implementations can handle up to 10,000 particles in realtime simulations and are mostly limited by the transfer of particle data from the main processor to the graphics hardware (GPU) for rendering.

This paper introduces a full GPU implementation of both the simulation and rendering of a dynamically-growing particle system. Such an implementation can render up to 1 million particles in real-time on recent hardware. It helps you to dramatically increase the level of detail and allows you to simulate much smaller particles. Thus it goes back again towards the original idea of a particle being a minimal geometry element.