Multiple Game modes and AppState initialization dependencies

Hello monkeys,

I’m not too good at architecturing my lil game so I would like some opinion on my following “idea”:

I want my game to be able to easily support different playing modes, such as race versus opponents, best lap race with a ghost looking car representing your best lap path, slalom and so on.

For that, I went the following road:

• GameModeState that represents the type of game (slalom, simple race etc)
  • GameState that represents the steps of a GameModeState (lobby, first race, re-lobby, second race (for a campaign for example))
  • AppStates in which the initialization occurs for a GameState (one for building the track, one for building a vehicle, one for adding slalom gates, etc)
  • A GameManager that would do the switching from one GameModeState to another
  • A GameModeStateManager for each GameMode that would deal with switching from one GameState to another

The problem I face is that some of those AppStates require other AppStates to have been fully initialized before they can be initialized. For example, a public camera requires the vehicle to have been initialized via it’s LoadVehicleAppState.

So I thought:

• Each AppState would have a list of AppStates required before initializing it.
  • I’d make a generic AppState whose update method would take care of attaching the other AppStates via it’s update method depending on if their dependency AppStates were already initialized. Once all AppStates would be initialized, it would detach itself.

Does this make you want to scream :D… any better way for:

• multiple game modes
  • AppStates initialization when they depend on other AppStates being already initialized

Sounds okay, you could even let the single AppStates manage the ones they need themselves but having one where you can configure the “dependencies” sounds nice too. Implementing it is the best way to see if it works out :wink: You code, you learn :smiley:

2 Likes