My First Application!

Hello There!

I’ve just created my first application and I’d like to share it with you guys. It’s a simple game where you just avoid hitting the walls that randomly generate.

It is 100% ready for android thanks to help from the forums. Thanks to everyone who helped me do this.

It’s not perfect as there are some crashy issues, but I’ve learned a lot here. This is only my second real java project and it went really well, as I am new to both programming and game design

Here are some screenshots.

There are two modes, here is the classic style Arcade Mode.

And for a more modern 3d experience, this is chase mode.

The only difference in the two modes is the camera angle but it provides a different type of experience.

I’d like to start making some applications for google play, but am wondering the rules about doing this. I have no idea about licensing issues or whether or not I can publish this. As you can see I used the models provided by jme.

Anyone who knows might be able to enlighten me.

If you’d like to check it out I have the whole source here on my github.

Thanks for reading!

6 Likes

Oops I forgot to link to my github!

Here you go

Congrats man! Kudos to you for starting small; a lot of people can’t resist the temptation of jumping straight on to their dream project :wink:

I’m curious:

1. What was your first real Java project?
  2. In your opinion, what are the most important things for a beginner programmer to learn before trying to make a game with jME3?
1 Like

Hi there,

My first real project was this one.

It’s much more advanced than this game, and was my first real java project. What I mean by real was I had no goal in prior projects, other than to learn the basic uses of java by testing different things.